PDA

View Full Version : Any Professional Tile Setters Here?

Terry Teadtke
01-06-2009, 1:31 AM
I have a question about using epoxy grout or a real good why I shouldn't.

Terry

Sean Troy
01-06-2009, 8:00 AM
I would not use it in a large area. You'll need to move fast when using it. Any mistakes are permanent.

Steve Jenkins
01-06-2009, 8:11 AM
check out johnbridge.com. they are really helpful and numerous pros.

James Stokes
01-06-2009, 8:35 AM
If you have never used it you do not know what you are getting yourself into. It is hard to work with and hard to clean up. For the clean up you need to use the hotest water you can stand.

Peter Stahl
01-06-2009, 8:47 AM
What are you tiling? Is epoxy grout used for a typical shower tile job?

Phil Thien
01-06-2009, 9:31 AM
What are you tiling? Is epoxy grout used for a typical shower tile job?

I'm not the OP but I'm guessing countertop.

Thomas Bank
01-06-2009, 9:58 AM
Not a tile setter, but as an architect I've specified it for projects and worked with it myself. A lot depends on the intended use. For one, we advise against using it in the kitchen as it can "melt" with heat.

It is more expensive than standard grout. You have to work diligently, but it does have a fairly decent amount of time to work with it. It can stain porous tiles.

Knowing what you plan to use it for would help to make recommendations.

Jim O'Dell
01-06-2009, 12:34 PM
+1 on getting on the John Bridge forum. Really helpful and lots of good information. They helped me a lot recently on a tiling job. Jim.

Prashun Patel
01-06-2009, 1:01 PM
+1 on JohnBridge; they helped me do my basement shower.

There's traditional epoxy grout and there's Spectralock. Spectralock is an epoxy grout that's much easier to apply than regular e-grout. You still have to move kinda quick, but I used it on my shower floor and found it very doable. It's expensive (read 5x price of regular grout) so think hard b4 doing so.