PDA

View Full Version : Carving Wood Spirits

Johnm Chase
01-05-2009, 2:36 PM
I was browsing the local bookshops Sunday and came across a text about carving Wood spirits and Green Men .. wow that got my attention.Does anyone else lean toward these objects i would like to hear from them and whatever books or guides for tutorials.:)

Mike Henderson
01-05-2009, 3:11 PM
I don't do that kind of carving but there's lots of books on it. If you go to Amazon and search on "carving wood spirits" you'll find a whole bunch.

Mike

Zahid Naqvi
01-05-2009, 4:55 PM
I love woodspirit carvings, although I am still a novice at carving and have never attempted one yet. But it's in my carving "to do" list :D

Jeff Riddle
06-14-2009, 10:00 PM
Hey John, I love the mountain man or wood spirit. I personally to like the name wood spirit. I use to work as a firefighter for the Calif Dept of Forestry and Fire Protection. I came across a lot of these "Wood Spirit" guys. There are several of them that are just grumpy old men living in the middle of the forest way back in the hills but most of them are rather nice once you get to know them.

Now I have only done two and am working on my third. The all are taking form in hiking canes of various sorts. The one I am working on now is for myself. Long story short, I have a bad back causing trouble with my leg and need a little help getting around. Anyway, I will try to attach a picture of the last one I did. Oh. I didn't have a book to go by. Just did it of the cuff. He turned out good. At least the customer liked it and that's what really matters.
I look forward to seeing your progress. I have another cane I did but it was a little different than this one. A lot more detail. If you like, I will try to post it so you can see some of the work.

Jeff

nancy barry
06-14-2009, 10:15 PM