PDA

View Full Version : End Vise

Martin Heilman
12-31-2008, 3:24 PM
I am a casual woodworker and am thinking of making a dedicated bench, probally as much as for the sake of making the bench as much as using it. I have the Scott Landis book on workbenches and notice many benches have the double row of dog holes along the top. However, Scott mentiones that when using only one side on a center screw vise, it eventually becomes racked. Therefore my question: Why not put two single vises on the end, the same as located on the front, then you would have the option of using one or both, as the situation demands? I may be missing something but appreciate any comments - Thanks

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/images/misc/progress.gif

Alan DuBoff
12-31-2008, 4:14 PM
Martin,

It all depends on how the bench will be positioned in the space, since having an end vise towards the rear of the bench will require that you can get back there easily enough to work in that area. It is more convenient/comfortable for most folks to work at the front of the bench, hence why the bench dogs get used in that position for most folks, yet the rear set sits idle in many cases. Depends if the bench will be against a wall, in the center of the room, etc...

There was quite a period where putting the twin screw on the end of the bench was popular, some folks seem to use that setup as a front vise, mounted on the end of their bench, working it from the end. For this orientation, that works for a lot of work, but it seems that most people that have added them do not use them to their full capability in practice, and the twin screws that are mounted on the end tend to be used less. This is not to say that some folks get a lot of use out of them, there will always be exceptions.

What type of work would you be securing with a setup like you suggest, having two separate end vises to use separately or in tandem? That is key, IMO, and if you have justification any and all various vises could work.