PDA

View Full Version : Need benchtop or job site table saw advice

tom coleman
12-31-2008, 2:23 AM
I am out of space and must replace 10" table saw w Biesmeyer fence on mobile base

Need recommendation for quality benchtop or job site saw that can be stored out of the way until needed

Bill Huber
12-31-2008, 2:32 AM
From everything I have read the Bosch is the best job site around.
I have a friend that has one and has nothing but good to say about it. He has the 4100-09, there is also the 4100DG-09 with a digital rip fence.

http://www.boschtools.com/Products/Tools/Pages/BoschProductCategory.aspx?catid=25

Robby Tacheny
12-31-2008, 7:42 AM
I have been using a Hitachi in my shop (until I can afford a nices saw) and it does very well. Setup was easy and the fence is decent. I have been using it for 2 years and with a freud combination 50 tooth it does a nice job.

I couldn't justify spending $500 for a jobsite saw when i could get a hybrid saw for $200 - $300 more. When I upgrade, I think I'll just stick the dado stack on my Hitachi full time.

If money is not an issue I have always read nothing but good things about the Bosch saws.

-R

John Buzzurro
12-31-2008, 11:51 AM
Hi Tom,

I purchased the Bosch 4000-09 a few years back for the same reason. It's a great little saw. I've used it on everything up to 8/4 material, with no problem. Folds up nicely to tuck away in a corner. Bosch has a 4100 model that supposedly has some improvements over the 4000, but I'm not sure what they are.

hth,
John

George Farra
12-31-2008, 12:59 PM
Another vote for the Bosch. I've got the 4100-09 and recently ordered the digital fence attachment. I like the saw, has great power for its size. I'm luke-warm on the fence....mine doesn't slide with ease and kinda skips around. It gets worse when you extend the table to get a greater rip capacity.

Overall, I think it was a good purchase. Probably takes me a little more time to set up cuts than a more robust machine but it does the job well