PDA

View Full Version : Project: English Brown Oak Table

Jim Becker
12-28-2008, 12:25 PM
Some of you may have caught my thread in the Neander forum (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=99937) regarding this table...it's my first project that was entirely "surfaced" with hand planes. About a year ago while on a trip to Hearne Hardwoods for some QS cherry that I needed for my vanity projects, I stumbled (almost literally) on a wonderful piece of natural edge English Brown Oak. I was unfamiliar with this species, but there was something very appealing to me...interesting because I generally do not like oak all that much. So the piece came home with me along with a larger piece of 8/4 material for legs and aprons. I knew that it would be some form of table...and so it is with my Christmas 2008 holiday project. I just LOVE the color of these stuff. Very rich. And the heart/sap contrast is great for a piece like this.

Because the width of the top is greater than the capacity of my J/P combo, I worked it with some hand planes, learning quickly what felt good and what the effects of grain changes could be. And as I eluded to in the other thread, I was sore, but happy with the result. So happy, that I also surfaced the legs and aprons with the planes after milling and resawing them respectively. No sandpaper was used in this project outside of a small piece of worn 150 grit to break the corners and some 400 during the finishing process for "nubbie" removal. Dimensions are 42" wide, 13-14" deep (top is bow-front) and 30" tall. The top is just under an inch finished thickness. Finish is two brushed applications of shellac on the entire project after BLO and two sprayed coats of Target USL satin on the top only. Total actual woodworking time was about 4-5 hours. Finishing (not including overnight time for the oil) was about an hour and a half.

105006 105007