PDA

View Full Version : One man's discard is another man's treasure

Marc Himes
12-28-2008, 11:58 AM
This is my first attempt at posting a picture and I hope it appears. I am technolocigally challenged and my computer likes my wife more than it likes me but here goes.

The piece is from a dried out Pine burl that was brought in to a fund raiser at our local AAW chapter. I wasn't sure what kind of wood it was until I smelled the turpentine-like aroma. The burl was shaped like an oblong potato, so it became my first winged, natural edged bowl. The darker wood is full of pitch which led to some staining of the lighter wood during sanding.
It is 11 x 5 X 3 1/2 inches and is finished with sprayed Lacquer.
Comments and critiques are welcome.

Marc Himes

Brian Weick
12-28-2008, 12:04 PM
Marc,
All I see is a red X box. ???
Brian

David Epperson
12-28-2008, 12:21 PM
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/picture.php?albumid=70&pictureid=594

Does this help?

Brian Weick
12-28-2008, 12:32 PM
Absolutly awsome job~! :eek: nice work~!

Bill Bolen
12-28-2008, 12:50 PM
If your computer skills are holding you back posting pic's like this one then put the wife on the payroll! You have a beautiful piece here and I think all here would love to see much more of this outstanding work. And thanks to Dave for fixing and posting..Bill..

Marc Himes
12-28-2008, 12:51 PM
Thanks for getting the picture posted for me David. How did you do that?
Thanks for your kind words Brian. I have been working with Steve Schlumph to try to get this figured out. Thanks for your help Steve. I will keep on trying.

Marc Himes

robert hainstock
12-28-2008, 12:53 PM
If we hadn't seen that jackpine bowl a while back at the meeting would you have bothered. seriously Marc that is a beautiful piece. I hope you'll bring it to a meeting for show and tell. :D:D:D
Bob

Steve Schlumpf
12-28-2008, 1:02 PM