Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Home Shop ( shaker oval boxes)

The Home Shop ( shaker oval boxes)

Occasionally I get the urge to make a few shaker oval boxes. Have always bought material from The Home Shop in Michigan. I know John Wilson has passed. I ordered some bands, and tops and bottoms probably 5/6 weeks ago. Have not heard a word since. Have tried to call, no answer. Anyone know if they have closed? Or just on vacation?

thanks Mike

I suggest you contact Lee Valley. They say on their website that they are out of stock on copper tacks, but expect restocking by March 14. I had the idea that Wilson had the only commercial tack machines in the United States now, and maybe Lee Valley knows the contact at Home Shop.

Interested in knowing if you get an answer. I placed an order last week, the tracking says ‘being processed’. After John Wilson passed, I read that business was going to stay open. I hope they manage to do so. I’m just a hobbyist who builds a few sets of boxes a year, but Mr Wilson’s company has always been a valuable source of supplies and information. The Vol II of his books on Shaker boxes is easily my favorite of the many woodworking books I’ve purchased.

Anthony
    did your order arrive. I keep calling, no luck

mike johnston

I just got off the phone with Lee Valley. The gal couldn't even tell me where there tacks come from, just that they are made in the USA. I asked to speak with a procurement guy or something, no was the answer. Disappointed to say the least. They even show Wilson's instruction book with the tacks they sell, surely someone at Lee Valley knows.

6. Quote Originally Posted by mike johnston View Post
    Anthony
    did your order arrive. I keep calling, no luck

mike johnston
    No, the tracking still says it’s being ‘processed’. I’m in no hurry on the order, but it’s concerning that you haven’t heard anything. I wish the best for them, the shop fills an important niche.

I’ll post if I hear anything.