Thread: Solution for image orientation problem on Sawmill Creek

Solution for image orientation problem on Sawmill Creek

If you’re having trouble getting your pictures to orient correctly, make an account on Imgur.com. They’ve been around forever and I’ve been using it for at least 10 years. No spam emails. Free account. By design the site removes all EXIF data from the image. After uploading the images, save them directly from Imgur and they’ll upload exactly as you’re seeing them. You could also use an HTML [img]link[/img] code to link directly from the site.

I set all my albums as “hidden” and your photos will only be visible via a direct link.

I struggled with getting my pictures to upload correctly for quite a while this weekend, but I hope this helps others. It’s a reliable and easy way to solve the problem. I tried manually removing the EXIF data, saving the images myself, but nothing worked reliably until I tried this.

Interesting Will, thanks. I have a Firefox add-on that rotates and zooms images that works well. The issue can be that it rotates the images in place and the rotated image doesn't fit in the same space as the original image.

Blog Entries
    The only problem with using Imgur to post photos is that the photo may be lost if Imgur closes or you remove the photo from your account. Photos uploaded to Sawmillcreek stay at Sawmillcreek and the post will remain intact.
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71
    Go Navy!

My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

Lee, is there a way for us to fix our rotation issues or does a mod have to do that?

Also, I think Will was suggesting that we upload to Imgur then re-download them to strip out the bad EXIF data prior to uploading here.

Quote Originally Posted by Bert McMahan View Post