Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Steam Bending Wood - Box material?

Steam Bending Wood - Box material?

I have been using a plywood steam box for a couple years. It has delaminated over time.

i have to make a new one. I hear many people use PVC. I tried some scrap sewer pipe (schedule 20). It melted quicker than butter in a frying pan.

I've heard many people use 40 or 80 or abs pipe to good effect as steam chambers. However, wouldn't they all be pretty susceptible to melting?

All of their temperature ratings are below 200 deg.

I'd like not to have to make another wood box. Pipes of different sizes would be cheaper and more versatile for my purposes.

Have any of you used schedule 40 or 80 pvc with a steam generator?

No experience with PVC pipe but I did try to use blue sheet foam to insulate one of my wood boxes and it was an epic failure. The foam swelled and distorted - didn't even survive the first run.

I did line one box with alum. coil stock and that is still working great.

The silicone flap seals from Conservation Tech also hold up really well.

I was considering building a new steam bending box out of 6"/8" metal duct. I saw this somewhere not to long ago where the shelving was done with metal rods just drilled through the sides, and then metal caps at each end. I might use a nordfab duct to make it easy to have variable length and easier for storage.

Here's someone who did it with spiral duct:

I used foil-faced foam insulation board, held together with aluminum tape. All edges exposed to steam are sealed with the tape, but some outside seams are exposed so that when the box ends are removed it will all fold flat. It works fine and stores easily.

Blog Entries
    I have used PVC and it does distort with the heat. I can't find the PVC version it looks like a Salvador Dali subject. Here are two very simple ones. Interestingly a 4 pound coffee can fits 6 inch stove pipe and a 1 pound can fits 4 inch.

IMG_0739.jpg