Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Who Has a Tractor?

Who Has a Tractor?

We have a small farm.....and it appears as though you need decent tractors, other wheeled vehicles, implements, etc. to have a small farm. What tractor do you have, what size, and what attachments or implements do you find most useful?

Blog Entries
    It's been covered extensively here. Looking for the latest...

Last edited by Maurice Mcmurry; 02-03-2022 at 5:26 PM.

Utility tractor is a 1979 John Deere 2640 with front end loader, and reverser transmission. 70 hp-a low end category 2. I wouldn't want a smaller one if you have to shape dirt. When we first got this place, I bought a 35 hp tractor, but we had a lot of dirt to shape, so I bought the larger one. The 35hp was new, bought in 1980, but that was the last new tractor I ever bought. I've been running that John Deere for over 30 years, and have built our farm with it. We have 163 acres, with pasture, riding rings, and miles of trails, and at that, this tractor is the minimum size. If I knew now what I did when I bought that tractor, I would have looked for a 90 hp, but I've made out with that one.

The size of your spread will determine what size tractor you need.

I have a long list of implements, of which I wouldn't want to be without one of. It will depend entirely on what you want to do with it, to figure out what you need. Need more info. I would say a front end loader is a must have.
    Last edited by Tom M King; 02-03-2022 at 7:26 PM.

I have about fifteen acres total but will be shaping dirt. That said, I already own a Case 1845C skid steer, so that will be used for shaping dirt. I purchased the 1845C to cut in a road. The irony is that the 1845C might bring more money than when I purchased it.