Thread: Laminated Wood Vise Jaws

Laminated Wood Vise Jaws

I'm about to install a Veritas Twin-Screw Vise on my workbench and was thinking of laminating two different types of wood for the front jaw, maple on the front and cheap soft wood on the inside. My thinking it would serve two purposes. The soft wood wood is cheaper and it would also help to protect whatever I'm working on. The outer layer made of maple would mostly be for aesthetics but also might hold the vise hardware better and stiffen the softer inner jaw. My first concern is gluing two different types of wood together as I've never done this before. Anyone approached making jaws this way before?

Blog Entries
    Maybe the softwood could be attached with a couple of screws sunken under the surface of the soft jaw. That would make it easier to replace in the future.

If a vise jaw can be laminated with leather, why not softwood?

jtk
    "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

If it turns to doo-doo, it seems to me that it would not be that big a deal to swap it out. At any rate, I highly recommend that you glue some leather (I use thin suede) to the faces of whatever wood you decide on.
    David

Quote Originally Posted by David Eisenhauer View Post
    If it turns to doo-doo, it seems to me that it would not be that big a deal to swap it out. At any rate, I highly recommend that you glue some leather (I use thin suede) to the faces of whatever wood you decide on.
    Does that include the back jaw, which in my case is the face of the table? If so, doesn't the thickness of the leather defeat the purpose of having the back jaw in line with the side of the table when clamping long pieces?

Blog Entries