Thread: Opinions on Hammer C3 Upgrade to Outrigger table

Opinions on Hammer C3 Upgrade to Outrigger table

Hello all. A year ago I purchased a C3-41 which is a 2000 year model with a 48" slider (actually a little over 50" long). I have the "regular" miter gauge which is about 44" long mounted in the "pusher" configuration and the table extend. I'm certainly still feeling my way along after using a regular table saw for over 40 years.

I would appreciate. your thoughts/wisdom on upgrading to the outrigger table and crosscutting with that. I am a hobbyist and I mainly work about 70% solid wood 30% plywood/cabinets. I have about $7000 invested in the C3-41 including the mortiser, new power feeder and alot of shaper cutters and mortise bits.

It appears that the current outrigger table will fit to my machine.
    http://us.feldershop.com/en-US/en-US...able-1100.html

It looks like to be functioning I would also have to get the fence and coupling system. Does anyone know if my current fence would work? I don't see in the pictures the 90 degree stop.
    http://us.feldershop.com/en-US/en-US...ence-1300.html
    http://us.feldershop.com/en-US/en-US...outrigger.html

Not a cheap upgrade as all the above would be about $1300 before shipping cost. Are there downsides to the outrigger?

Thanks for the help.

Dan

Hi, I added the outrigger to my B3 after owning it for a couple of years.

You say you mostly use solid wood, so do I. For small furniture components you don't need it, however my daughter made herself a dining room table and was able to crosscut the 5/4 top herself with one hand, try doing that without an outrigger.

Yes you'll need the coupling devices to attach the fence extrusion to the outrigger, I would also purchase the mitre index system if you want to use other than 90 degree positions.