Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Posts being deleted & formatting

  1. #1

    Posts being deleted & formatting

    <p>
    2 things:</p>
    <p>
    &nbsp;</p>
    <p>
    #1 Posts that I make are often being deleted... what gives?</p>
    <p>
    Does someone disagree? I don't think I'm violating any rules, just adding to the discussion?</p>
    <p>
    &nbsp;</p>
    <p>
    #2 I am having formatting problems on chrome with windows 10</p>
    <p>
    &nbsp;</p>
    <p>
    &quot;quotes&quot; come out funny.</p>
    <p>
    apostrophe's are weird.</p>
    <p>
    enter doesn't really work for laying out the post.</p>
    <p>
    &nbsp;</p>
    <p>
    I have tried the 3 choices in general settings, the second 2 just give me a box, but won't let me type in it...</p>
    <p>
    &nbsp;</p>
    <p>
    Help appreciated.</p>
    Last edited by Lee Schierer; 11-16-2017 at 8:56 PM. Reason: fixed wonky text

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    In the foothills of the Sandia Mountains
    Posts
    14,063
    Josh, I see 6 posts that were deleted by you this morning. I don’t see any other deleted postings. With few exceptions, we do not delete anyone’s posts.

    I looked at your settings and you are using the WYSIWYG Enhanced Editor. Try switching to the Standard editor. The WYSIWYG Enhanced Editor has been known to cause formatting problems for some people.

    Go to: Settings>General Settings> scroll to: Miscellaneous Options and check the box for: Standard Editor - Extra formatting controls. Make sure to save.
    Please help support the Creek.

    If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something. - Steven Wright

  3. #3
    Hi.

    Yes,

    I deleted a few posts made with my PC because I couldn't get the format clear. It wasn't 6 though.

    But then I reposted with my phone... and it disappeared a couple times.

    Maybe it was somehow double deleting... after reposting... I don't know...

    I tried the standard editor and it just gives a blank box that I can't click into to type... I'm not sure...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Darmstadt, Germany
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by Josh Kocher View Post
    I tried the standard editor and it just gives a blank box that I can't click into to type... I'm not sure...
    I had the same experience, even with the formatting and special character set showing up in my text. The solution for me was to stop using the "https" version of this website when replying. The standard editor works well for me using the "http" version, the formatting characters don't show up, and I can use contractions when I type.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    E TN, near Knoxville
    Posts
    4,444

    painful formatting codes in messages, etc.

    Quote Originally Posted by Josh Kocher View Post
    I tried the standard editor and it just gives a blank box that I can't click into to type... I'm not sure...
    Josh,

    Look at the address field above the page in the browser.

    If the address bar contains a little padlock and the SMC address starts with "https://..." then take out the "s" to change it to "http://...", hit Enter, then try the Standard Editor again. (The browser considers the "http://" redundant and won't display it in Firefox and Chrome, don't know about other browsers.)

    - The combination of "https" and the Standard editor gave me the unusable grey box every time I tested it.
    - The combination of "https" and the Enhanced editor gave me the painful formatting characters.
    - The combination of "http" and the Enhanced editor gave me other frustrating problems such as randomly jumping cursor on backspace.

    I now make sure I'm using "http://" and the Standard editor. Life is good.

    Edit: oops, I just noticed Mike addressed the "https" issue earlier and I missed it. Sorry.

    JKJ
    Last edited by John K Jordan; 11-16-2017 at 11:16 PM. Reason: just noticed

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Josh Kocher View Post
    Hi.

    Yes,

    I deleted a few posts made with my PC because I couldn't get the format clear. It wasn't 6 though.

    But then I reposted with my phone... and it disappeared a couple times.

    Maybe it was somehow double deleting... after reposting... I don't know...

    I tried the standard editor and it just gives a blank box that I can't click into to type... I'm not sure...
    What version of windows are you using and what browser? If you get a warning that the site is not secure ignore it.
    Lee Schierer - McKean, PA

    My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Contribute

  7. Be aware if you take the s out of https:// turning into http:// you are transmitting clear text, not encrypted. While that probably makes no difference to any one on a forum such as this, it sure will on your online banking. The s stands for secure, it means what you send and receive is encrypted, hence the little padlock. Probably moot as sites that need encryption will (hopefully) enforce it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Chagrin Falls, OH
    Posts
    3,976
    Could we make a sticky on each subforum that addresses the formatting issue? It’s really annoying to read posts that have “I&rsquo” all over the place.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    E TN, near Knoxville
    Posts
    4,444
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt Day View Post
    Could we make a sticky on each subforum that addresses the formatting issue? It’s really annoying to read posts that have “I&rsquo” all over the place.
    The problems are addressed in this thread but the discovery about the HTTPS is buried along about message #9 or so:
    http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...t-input-issues

    But, I agree, that wandering sticky thread should probably be replaced a succinct message explaining exactly what to do when the special character codes show up. I don't know the schedule for replacing the forum software but such a sticky might be helpful until then. I could try my hand at writing this unless someone else wants to beat me to it! (Might get done quicker.)

    JKJ

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hayes, Virginia
    Posts
    12,361
    Aaron Koehl told me that it depends on the browser you are using. Some browsers will work fine logging in with https and some won't. When we make the change to Xenforo he will drop all access to The Creek using http and move to the secure server access url (https). We don't want to do this right now because it will be a nightmare that will tie up our phones and email for weeks...everyone will have to provide their password again for Xenforo, another issue that will keep us busy for weeks.

    We will make an announcement in our Support Forum when its time to share the conversion schedule. If you don't check the Support Forum frequently you will miss out on the necessary information that will make the conversion painless.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hayes, Virginia
    Posts
    12,361
    Lets not even think about multiple threads in each forum dealing with this issue. We have to address the same issues over and over in every forum and we don't have the time right now.

    We have a Tech Support Forum for the purpose of sharing information that is relative to everyone PLEASE visit the Support Forum periodically and check for updates and information.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Chagrin Falls, OH
    Posts
    3,976
    I don’t really follow all the technical jargon, but is there something that can be posted like “to avoid formatting errors, use XYZ browser”?

    The formatting issue is getting worse just about every day.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hayes, Virginia
    Posts
    12,361
    Matt,

    Try using this url:
    http://www.sawmillcreek.org/forum.php

    If you still have a problem let me know what operating system and browser you are using.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Chagrin Falls, OH
    Posts
    3,976
    Keith,
    I’m not having the problem. It’s other users and me trying to interpret their posts.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Outten View Post
    Matt,

    Try using this url:
    http://www.sawmillcreek.org/forum.php

    If you still have a problem let me know what operating system and browser you are using.
    And switch your SMC settings to use the standard editor.
    Capture.JPG
    Last edited by Lee Schierer; 12-07-2017 at 8:01 PM.
    Lee Schierer - McKean, PA

    My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Contribute

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •