Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner hobby woodworker, tools and questions.

Beginner hobby woodworker, tools and questions.

Hi there! thank you for stopping by.

I have been missing a good hobby in my life, and have been wanting to use my hands for years (I work in a office).
    After much thought about the subject, I decided, that woodworking (At least at hobby level) would be a fun, rewarding project, not only for myself, but also a skill that my son could take part in and enjoy.
    However, I must already now state that I am on a tight budget, and that I will have to buy tools on the go.

My ambition is not to become a professional, nor is it to make top tier items (I am fully aware that I am a beginner), but it is simply, to have a fun hobby, where I can use my hands, and make some useful projects.
    Sadly, my current house do not feature a garage, or any other truly indoor environment where I can work.

The best idea I have been able to come up with, is using a shed with open sides. and then putting up some “walls” made of either plywood or the like, just to keep the rain and such out.

My thoughts was to start out with a limited selection of power tools *Drill, Router, Jigsaw, Orbital grinder (or a grinder in general) and then either a Circular saw, or a Mitresaw.
    and then a selection of hand tools, clamps etc.

Now for my questions (I am sorry for the long post by the way)
    • Can it be done at all in those conditions (not thinking about major power tools like band saw etc.)
    • What kind of tools would you suggest, for that kind of hobby use.
    • What to look for when going for “cheap” power tools (Some circular saws are a lot cheaper based mostly on lower wattage
    • And lastly, what would be a better fit, a circular saw, or a Mitre saw, if you would have to choose one.

Once again sorry for the long post, but I have so far failed in finding this information

Welcome to the Creek.