Thread: After 20 years.... I'm a rookie again!

After 20 years.... I'm a rookie again!

That's an odd feeling. I've been an hobbyist woodworker for over 20 years. Several projects a year. Beds, entertainment centers, tables, cabinets, etc. I filled my home with furniture and stuff over the years. Then a big life change and my priorities changed, got busy with other things, and been out of the shop for about 3-4 years. Only doing simple stuff around the house, maybe a Christmas gift or two, but no big projects.

So with my son getting his first real place, I decided to make him a few things. Ugh! I really lost the mojo.

Tons of rookie mistakes. Forgetting that Ply is not 3/4 but 23/32. Cutting on the wrong side of the line. Not checking square on glue up. Forgetting when and how to wipe off glue drips... Really stupid stuff. Things that I used to do automatically without thinking, I must now plan ahead for and really concentrate on.

Interesting how the mind works, when you get good at something, automation takes over, now I must really think it through. I'll have to just go slower and be more careful and triple check everything.

Of course, this could all just be old age. But I prefer to call it "out of practice".
    “Never attribute to malice that which can be explained by stupidity”

keep working and the past experience of wood working will come back

The next time you go swimming, you may want to start off in the shallow end.

Just kidding!

John

I go through that every year,Mike. I only work in my shop from November to March. I always start out my shop season by making a jig or shop improvement. Nothing where appearance or detail is important. Then my old brain can take a few days to acclimate to the shop.
    "Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t - you’re right."
    - Henry Ford