Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice for Wetting End Grain Fibers for Cleaner Cuts

Advice for Wetting End Grain Fibers for Cleaner Cuts

I'm a newbie at bowl turning, and I've gotten to the point in my efforts that I'm doing what I can to reduce the time that I put into sanding. I'm talking about face grain oriented bowls, and right now my biggest culprit seems to be torn end grain on the inside of the bowl along with short gashes made by the tool right near each of the two end grain areas. I'm still trying to improve my sharpening & turning skills, and I've been trying various bowl gouge grinds & scrapers - these will all be a work in progress.

Recently though I've had my best success by soaking the end grain with a little boiled linseed oil and then making some light passes with a freshly sharpened 1-1/2" round nose scraper. I'm actually happy with the results from that method. I chose BLO because so far I've finished my bowls with a Danish oil which contains BLO so there shouldn't be any incompatibilities with the finish, but I'm a bit concerned about the potential fire hazard with BLO drying in the shavings. So my question becomes what else can I use rather than BLO that will be compatible with Danish oil?

I've tried water. Although it works, it didn't work nearly as well as BLO. I've seen others suggest mineral oil and paste wax (not together) which should be fine as far as a fire hazard is concerned, but would either present problems with the finish? Mineral oil won't cure, but I don't know if maybe it would be diluted enough when I soak the bowl with Danish oil, and I'm afraid that any residual paste wax might leave some discolored areas once the finish has been applied.

So far I've primarily worked with sycamore which might be contributing to the problem...I have some roughed out walnut & cherry bowls but they're not ready to finish yet.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks,
    Charlie