Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: CastCNC Alum carriages for my machine coming in 2011

CastCNC Alum carriages for my machine coming in 2011

These are the new 2011 casting renderings with the K2 Z.

I am in the queue for the CastCNC.com alum carriages for my Joes machine in early 2011. Harry, the owner and maker of the parts has redesigned his X carriage to allow my 8" K2 Linear Z bolt on. I will also be adding the second X 8020 to the gantry. Now I am also contemplating a VRail upgrade at the same time while i do these mods. I am pretty excited about the upgrade.

Best part is last week's and this week's CNC parts and sign jobs paid for the entire Cast Alum upgrade!

Harry's site is:
    www.castcnc.com
    Glad its my shop I am responsible for - I only have to make me happy.

This may be a silly question but I'm pretty new to CNC and this is something in particular that I'm interested in. It looks that while you have an 8" Z travel, the clearance under your gantry is only about half that. Of what use is the extra travel if you can't make it over your work piece?

generally travel is twice the clearance to allow the bit to have the clearance not the carraige (spindle collet)

good looking setup i met joe in dallas, one really neat fellow

James, I think I kind of follow what you're saying but is that really for convenience rather than necessity? i.e., I would think that with a proper design, you could have the tip of the tool even with the bottom of the gantry, have z travel equal to the gantry clearance and never have any issues no?

Again, I'm trying to learn about this stuff before a purchase. I could see that having extra travel would make spindle mounting easier but does the extra travel make it less rigid? I guess I could see that offset plates to regain travel could be just as flexy as longer travel....

Cast CNC

Mike