Thread: Jet 8" Benchtop Jointer/Planer Combo

Question Jet 8" Benchtop Jointer/Planer Combo

I have been looking at this machine, but the reviews are very mixed. I've seen some videos on youtube and it seems to work well. I am a hobbyist and college student on a limited budget, with even more limited space. I understand the tables are what seems to be cast aluminum and the machine is not that heavy, and the fence doesn't adjust. But, would it suit the needs of someone who is not planning on runnnig hundreds of board feet at a time, and mostly woods such as cedar, oak, pine, poplar, and maple through it? Does anyone have any experience with this model? There's no way I can spend upwards of $800 for seperate machines and the used market in my area is not that good. Thanks.

Jet JJP-8BT 8 Inch Bench Top Jointer/Planer

I purchased the 10 inch model from CPO Jet tools for the reasons you mentioned. The first one arrived and I spent some time assembling my new toy. When I tried to joint the first board, I realized that the two tables were not co-planer. This is something that I should be able to adjust, but there were no instructions in the manual so I attempted to "fix it so it works, or it never works again."

While attempting the fix, I realized that neither the tables were true. One table was cupped, and the other was crowned. Both curves were almost 1/8 inch over the 10 inch span. CPO Jet sent a replacement. Two days later when I unpacked the next machine, the replacement had the same issue.

I might reconsider this tool if I could purchase the tool locally and could check the flatness of the tables before I take it home.